My Love of Music

Lately, I’ve been listening to a lot of new music. Yes, I am American but I’ve been listening to artists all around the world. American music, especially rap music has turned sour. We have artist like Lil Yachety, Amine, and Young Thug, these supposed hip-hop artists are taking over the industry with mediocre rap.

When I drive home, I turn the radio off or I listen to repeats on B-101. HIP-HOP MUSIC HAS BEEN DOING NOTHING FOR ME! Yes, I know Kendrick Lamar is doing his thing with his chart topping song Humble but he can’t be the only one holding the hip-hop industry together. Respectively, we have artists like J.Cole, Chance the Rapper, & Tory Lanez who can really spit some bars. Now, I know, I know, some people do not like Tory Lanez but come on, listen to some of his freestyles and then tell me his not a good artist.

I woke up this morning in a good mood because I heard some great music. And yes you named it, it wasn’t a hip-hop artist. The artist who has me in an upbeat mood (although now I’m feeling like my idea of waking up at 2 in the morning was a bad idea) is the Nigerian singer and songwriter WizKid. I must have listened to WizKid at least 10 times this morning. His song Come Closer just makes me want to dance. It makes me want to find a bae to grove with. The beat, the vibe, the lyrics are spectacular. Some people who who are reading this are probably like “it’s not that serious” but for me it is. It was such a relief to hear this song.

In addition to WizKid, I’ve been listening to a lot of Maleek Berry. If you read my blog, then you know that I’ve featured Maleek Berry’s song Kontrol  for Music Monday. Once again, this song is on constant repeat. I love it. Maleek Berry is such a great artist and I can not wait to catch him in concert. He will be at the 2017 Made in America but that’s too many people for me!!

Another artist who I love. And yes, you guys know this. It’s Mr. Eazi. He is amazing. He has a lot of swag and his music speaks volumes. I’m trying to catch him in concert too. If anyone knows of any upcoming concert dates, let me know asap!

Now, look at this billboard list of Top R&B/Hip-Hop artists and tell me what’s wrong with it (http://www.billboard.com/charts/year-end/2016/top-r-and-b-hip-hop-artists).

P.S. This is such a random blog but I had to do something. Enjoy your day. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

