Are Black Men a Commodity?

Let me tell you a story.

One day, while at work, my coworker and I were having a conversation about race. He was raised in a rural area where most of the residents were white. I was raised in a city where there were multiple diversities everywhere. My coworker identified himself as being “racist.” The thing that startled me the most was that he called himself a racist yet, he was having a respectable conversation with a black woman.

I asked my coworker, “why do you considered yourself a racist?”

His answer, “I don’t like Black and Hispanic people.”

“But I’m Black,” I said.

“Well I like you. You’re not lazy,” he said.

“But you just said you were racist.”

“Well I like some Black people.”

“Like who.”

“I like Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant, Lebron…”

“But, they’re black so how are you a racist?”

He didn’t have a answer.

My coworker called himself a racists because he didn’t like your “everyday” black or Hispanic person. However, what he failed to realize is that those people who he admired where Black. If you are a racist, you don’t like anyone in a particular group. The definition of racist is “a person who shows or feels discrimination or prejudice against people of other races, or who believes that a particular race is superior to another.”

YOU CAN’T BE RACIST OR A BIGOT AND SAY YOU LIKE KOBE BRYANT AND MICHAEL JORDAN!! 

 

Today a post went viral about a mother who hated that her daughter’s father had braids put in her hair. Her father (who is a Black man) took his daughter to the hair salon to get her hair done. Listen, I’m not going to explain the whole story. You have to see it for yourself.

15317858_10157801654645147_8268972131796486785_n

White-Racist-Baby-Mama-1

15355705_10157801655175147_6953983325810275812_n-e1481322088566-1.jpg

White-Racist-Baby-Mama-3

I’m telling you guys, this woman has lost her damn mind. It’s so sad to see stuff like this. However, this proved the point that I had in my head for the past month. BLACK MEN ARE A COMMODITY. 

Some of American society hate and fear Black men. It has been proven time and time again by the numerous deaths of innocent black men. Although society seems to hate black men, if they are rich and know how to dunk, they are admired. Woman of every race have formed some sort of admiration for black men but they are “what’s trending.” If you date a black man that means you are in the “in-crowd.” Black men have the ability to make a woman relevant and famous.

For example, take Kim Khardashian. We all know how her fame was started. But more importantly, it was started with a Black man by her side or on top of her; however you want to describe it is fine with me.

When women date black men (some woman, not all) they see there way into “fame.” Women seek out famous black men in order to jump start there 5 second careers. And I’m not saying women of color don’t do this because trust me they do. Every woman has to have a black man in her purse but can’t stand him when he loses his money or stops being seen as a star.

Let me tell ya’ll something. I have a lot of respect for people of all cultures and ethnicity. It doesn’t make sense to me why some women have sex with Black men then when a child is born, they don’t know how to properly balance both cultures. Children need to understand and know there background but clearly, that mother in the text message failed victim to stereotypes.

THIS IS A PSA FOR WOMEN: IF YOU ARE GOING TO SLEEP WITH A MAN OF COLOR. UNDERSTAND AND RESPECT HIS CULTURE. DON’T JUST THINK HE’S GOING TO BE A TREAT TO SHOW OFF TO YOUR FRIENDS OR EYE CANDY TO UP YOUR FOLLOWING ON YOUR SOCIAL MEDIA SIGHTS.

LADIES, GET IT TOGETHER.

Leave a Reply

