Modern acts of Feminism? (Remy Ma & Amber Rose)

On my ride to work, I was listening to Power 99 and a story about Remy Ma. In case you haven’t heard here’s a recap.

Remy Ma

Remy Ma has decided to create a fund to help raise money for women who want to conceive a child. Yes, it’s that simple. No drama to report.

Last year, the rapper had a miscarriage and bravely publicized the entire ordeal. If you want to watch what happened, click this link Watch Here.

Many thought she was brave and was glad that a woman in her position wasn’t afraid to be open the hardships happening in her life. Remy had an  ectopic pregnancy. For my readers who don’t know what that is, it’s a condition where the baby attaches itself to the Fallopian tube. Although Remy can not naturally conceive a baby, she can still do in vitro fertilization.

I am not going to lie, I had to do my research on in vitro because although I know the term, I do not know anything else about it. So in short, in vitro is a medical procedure where an egg is fertilized with sperm outside of the body. The cost of this procedure is 12,000-15,000.

Listening to Remy this morning, I realized she had a great point. How is it that abortions are covered by medical insurance but no in vitro? So people can take a life with insurance but they can’t create one. Remy opened up more with her interview with Essences. Please Watch Here. 

Many women go throw ectopic pregnancy’s and although there uterus and eggs are healthy, they are not able to conceive naturally. Remy realized that she had no problem paying the thousands of dollars to have in vitro but for those women who can’t afford that, they may never get the chance to have a child. Remy wants to start her own fund to help women who have a hard time naturally conceiving children.

remy-ma-blue-facebook-640x603

I’m glad Remy thought of this and she didn’t see herself as being too above other people. There are some artists who are in predicaments to help others but haven’t done anything. So thank you Remy Ma for your courage.

I will keep my eyes open for more information on Remy’s fund so I can link all information in this blog.

Now let’s talk about another woman with a lot of courage: Amber Rose. We have all heard of Amber Rose and her SlutWalk. At first, I didn’t like Amer Rose’s SlutWalk, but after browsing through the website, HELL YES, I WOULD DO IT. 

nintchdbpict000322132726
Amber Rose

I have linked the official website for Amber Rose SlutWalk Click Here. 

Some people think that the 33 year old is shaming women and is willing to do anything for some attention. My, in my opinion, Amber is embracing women and adapting to the times. Women are refereed to as sluts or hoes so frequently that the use of these terms are attached to any woman. A woman could simply take a picture with a man and people will call her a slut.

Amber Rose is proud of her body and her sexuality. I think she’s courageous for fighting against a male dominate society. I think people misunderstand her because she doesn’t sugarcoat things. She is who she is. However, I will agree that Amber does that things too far sometimes.

She posted an image on her Twitter of her vagina. Of course the world went crazy and started acting her for posting that image. I don’t think she was wrong but I think she did too much. I get the point of the picture. She’s wants to show the world that she’s proud of her body. But I don’t think she should have put that out for the world to see. I think there are other ways to showcase a woman’s beautiful figure. What do you guys think?

I think she’s making some huge waves in the industry and it’s making a lot of men uncomfortable. For that, I applaud Amber for standing up for what she believes in.

amber-rose-bares-it-all IG: @slutwalk_la (SlutWalk)

 

Leave a Reply

