Amber Rose is Cancelled! Are Philly women ugly?

In one of my recent blog post, I was celebrating Amber Rose for her bravery. She tries to empower women by doing things that make men uncomfortable. I must say, any woman who does that is always a winner in my book. However, in a interview that Amber did with Revolt TV, she made a statement that insulted a entire area of women. Please watch the clip below.

Now, Amber Rose is from Philadelphia. If I read Wikipedia correctly, she is from South Philadelphia. So I woman from Philadelphia just said that were she comes from the woman aren’t “traditionally attractive.” Now if you’re saying the same thing I said when I heard this than you and I are both still dumbfounded.

First of all, what the hell does “traditionally attractive” mean? Can someone please explain this to me? I go back and forth with whether or not I like Amber Rose and it’s because she says stupid things like this.

Amber is trying to tell the listeners a story of how she felt out of place living in Philadelphia. She says, “I’ve always felt bigger than the city.” I can completely relate to that. But the qualifying statement that she used to try and explain her experience growing up is ignorant and insulting. However, I want to understand where Amber formed this ideology from. I’m not sure if it’s from personal experience or if it’s just from common stereotypes.

I am from Philadelphia; uptown to be specific. To be truthful, this isn’t the first time that I’ve heard someone make a general statement about Philadelphia women being ugly. Artists come to Philly not expecting to see beautiful women but there are beautiful women all of the world. So it always throws me off when I hear people say that Philly women are ugly. I will admit, Philly women carry a certain type of roughness about them that probably turns some men off. But you also have to be careful to not lump all Philly women into one category.

I think Amber was wrong for saying this statement. It’s not a real statement because clearly she’s not an ugly woman. There are plenty of women who are beautiful in Philadelphia. What do you think about this statement? Do you feel her statement was wrong?

 

Leave a Reply

